Abhinav Gorthi
2 min readFeb 12, 2019

It was dusk at the Triund hilltop, Dharamshala. We arrived at the summit after an arduous trek of five and a half hours. That might seem nothing to the people who are used to treks, but for someone like me, who weighs a little over 90 kilograms, it was a painful experience.

Nevertheless we, a bunch of six friends, made it to the top moments before the sunset. The temperature up there was -4°C. For the two of us who had come from a comfortable 27°C of Coimbatore just a couple of days, ill prepared for a trek, it was turning out to be a nightmare.

The sweat on our clothes didn’t dry and the moisture wouldn’t go away — irritation at its worst. For all the discomfort we were going through, we were seeking a fair compensation in terms of the views around the hill that was situated at a height of 9350 ft.

I kept waiting and just then, a lady passed through the frame making it the last photo before the battery totally drained.

Some shots are totally worth the wait

This photo was taken moments after the sunset. I waited for someone to pass through this patch of hill while the sky was throwing its last bit of beautiful shades in the background. I kept waiting and just then, a lady passed through the frame making it the last photo before the battery totally drained. I did not watch the preview of the photo, but knew it would be a good one and the shot worth the wait.

Follow my photography and writing journey on my Instagram profile.

Also, you can follow my film-making journey on my YouTube channel.

Abhinav Gorthi

An explorer of life; in a pursuit of perennial learning through sharing of creative ideas and 'innovative' problem solving abilities.